national society daughters of the american revolution

Honoring our heritage — focusing on the future — celebrating America!

Welcome to the Floyd Courthouse Chapter NSDAR!

The Floyd Courthouse Chapter was organized December 23, 1931. Since the chapter was to encompass the entire county it was named Floyd Courthouse, in honor of the county and of Governor John B. Floyd. Anne Simmons Profitt (Mrs. J. E.) was the organizing regent. She served as the first regent of the chapter and gave her full support to chapter activities until her death in 1974. In 1940, the chapter placed a bronze plaque in the Floyd Courthouse in memory of patriots of the American Revolution. It contains the names of the 18 patriots buried in Floyd County.


Vice Regent








Honorary Regent

Linda Aldridge Haney

Camelia McNeil Elliott

Dorothy Compton Howery

Neoma Sheppard Hall

Foy Lynnette Welch Baxter

Pamela Small Larimer

Barbara Thomas Spangler

Judith Gordon Blackwell

Karen Agnew Bingham

Betty Jacobs Hensley

Any woman is eligible for membership in the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution who is not less than eighteen years of age, and who is lineally descended from one who served, or was loyal to the cause of American Independence. This would be one who served as a sailor, soldier, civil officer, was a recognized patriot, or who rendered material aid to the Colonies; provided the applicant for chapter membership is personally acceptable to the chapter.

Admission of Members
This chapter does not discriminate against an applicant for membership on the basis of race or creed. An applicant must be endorsed by two members of the chapter to whom she is personally known, and must be approved by a majority vote of the membership.

The Floyd County Courthouse Chapter members would be delighted to welcome you to attend one of our meetings. 

For more information, contact Linda Aldridge Haney, regent.

Learn more about Today's DAR. Click here.

SEPTEMBER 5, 2017 – 1:00 p.m.

Membership in Today's DAR
Speaker — Pam Larimer, Chapter Registrar

OCTOBER 3, 2017 – 1:00 p.m.

Reflections on World War I In Its Centennial
Speakers — Dr. John D. Long, Director of Education at the D-Day Memorial Museum

NOVEMBER 2, 2017 – 1:30 p.m.

An Ageless Constitution
Speaker — Virginia DAR State Regent Judith Joy Surber

DECEMBER 5, 2017 – 1:oo p.m.

Blue Ridge Women's Center Baby Boutique Donations

JANUARY 2018 – No Meeting

FEBRUARY 2018 – No Meeting

MARCH 6, 2018 – 1:00 p.m.

Straight from the Editor's Desk
Speakers — Wanda Combs, Editor of The Floyd Press

APRIL 3, 2018 – 1:00 p.m.

Why to Save Those Old Coins!
Speakers — Jim Coartney

MAY 1, 2018 – 1:00 p.m.

Dolley Madison
Presentation from the NSDAR Program Office

JUNE 5, 2018 – 1:00 p.m.

Historical Rock Churches of Floyd County, Virginia

Anderson, James — VA

Bishop, Henry — VA

Blum, Johann — PA

Bollick, Casper — NC

Cannady, James — VA

Chapin, Samuel — MA

Cole, Joseph — VA

Critz, Hamon — VA

Edwards, Isaac — VA

Eanes, Edward — VA

Grubb, Henry — VA

Hall, Asa — NY

Hall, Jesse — NY

Hill, Violett — VA

Holland, Drury — VA

Hughlett, William Thrift — NC

Kimball, Sr., Aaron — MA

King, John — MD

Lucas, John — VA

McAlexander, John — VA

McAlexander, William — VA

Padget, Thomas — NC

Preston, Joel — VA

Richardson, James — VA

Sedgwick, Samuel — CT

Sherman, Aaron — MA

Souder/Sowder, Jacob — VA

Sweeny, Moses — VA

Thomas, Charles — VA

Thompson, John — VA

Trammell, Thomas — SC

Vest, John — VA

Weaver, Thomas — PA

Waddell/Weddle, Benjamin — VA

Wilson, James — VA

Yates, Stephen — VA